The Swiss Art Competition, held annually since 1899, is the world’s oldest art award. The accompanying Swiss Art Awards exhibition, which is organised by the Swiss Federal Office of Culture, offers an insight into current art and architecture in Switzerland and is a valuable reference for art professionals and art lovers.

The jury of the Swiss Art Awards consists of seven members of the Federal Art Commission, selected by the Federal Council, as well as five invited experts. The members of the jury are Raffael Dörig, Laura Arici, Valentin Carron, Victoria Easton, Julie Enckell-Julliard, San Keller, and Anne Julie-Raccoursier. The invited experts for visual arts are Lucie Kolb (2020-21), Uriel Orlow (2019-20) and Una Szeemann (2020-21) ; for architecture they are Jeannette Kuo (2020-21) and Tanya Zein (2019-20).

General information

Opening 15 June 2020, 7-10 pm
Exhibition 16-21 June 2020
Daily 10am-7pm
Sunday until 6pm
Location Hall 3, Messe Basel
Public transport Messeplatz or Riehenring
Lines 1+2 from Basel SBB to Messeplatz
Lines 1+ 14 + Bus 30 from Basel SBB to Riehenring
Free Admission
Follow us on Instagram! @swissartawards
Press contact

Press kits of the 2019 edition are available in DE, EN, FR and IT